Categories
GimmieBlog How To - General

When I Die, What Happens to My Facebook Account?

When I Die, What Happens to My Facebook Account? Have you asked yourself: When I die, what happens to my Facebook account? There’s a way to set it up now!

when-i-die-wifi-facebook

When I Die, What Happens to My Facebook Account? 

Have you ever asked yourself: When I die, what happens to my Facebook account?

In my experience when friends and family passed away, their loved ones have successfully gained access to the dearly departed‘s Facebook account.

But did you know there’s actually a security setting you can set up to add a loved one to your account in the event of your death? It’s called memorialization, and it’s easy to do – NOW while you can bequeath your account to whomever you choose.

Don’t worry, they can’t come in and take over while you’re alive. It’s not until you’ve died that your account is accessible. There’s actually a bunch of things they can’t do (scroll down and read the list).

Here’s how to set up a Legacy Contact on Facebook:

  1. Click link to go to your security settings on Facebook
  2. Find the My Legacy Contact section
  3. Add a Facebook friend (type in their name and click ADD)
    facebook-legacy-contact
  4. Optionally, you can send your friend a message letting them know you chose them and what that means.
    If you prefer, select NOT NOW and you can talk to them in person instead.

    Hi XXX, Facebook now lets people choose a legacy contact to manage their account if something happens to them: https://www.facebook.com/help/1568013990080948

    Since you know me well and I trust you, I chose you. Please let me know if you want to talk about this.

    legacy-contact-announcement

  5. To change the person you’ve selected at any time, go back to the My Legacy Contact in Facebook Security settings and click “REMOVE” under their picture/name. Set up a new contact by repeating steps above.

 

What is a legacy contact?

A legacy contact is someone you choose to look after your account if it’s security settings on Facebook. Once your account is memorialized, your legacy contact will have the option to do things like:

  • Write a pinned post for your profile (ex: to share a final message on your behalf or provide information about a memorial service)
  • Respond to new friend requests (ex: old friends or family members who weren’t yet on Facebook)
  • Update your profile picture and cover photo

You also have the option to allow your legacy contact to download a copy of what you’ve shared on Facebook, and we may add additional capabilities for legacy contacts in the future.

Your legacy contact can’t:

  • Log into your account
  • Remove or change past posts, photos and other things shared on your Timeline
  • Read messages you’ve sent to other friends
  • Remove any of your friends

Learn more about memorialization and how to add a legacy contact to your account.

If you’re a legacy contact, learn how to manage a memorialized profile.

Note: You must be 18 or older to select a legacy contact.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *